WATCH: Riske-Amritraj began her 2023 season in Adelaide against Barbora Krejcikova.


Alison Riske-Amritraj took to Twitter after a point from her doubles match with Linda Fruhvirtova went viral for all the wrong reasons on Friday.

Riske-Amritraj was outraged during their match against Natela Dzalamidze and Alexandra Panova when she was given a hindrance call for ostensibly shouting “Sorry!” during the point.

In reality, the American had accidentally hit her opponent at net early in the second set. The force of the ball caused it to bounce back over the net and lead umpire Nico Helwerth to believe contact had been made with a racquet.

Riske-Amritraj and Fruhvirtova argued in vain, first with Helwerth and later with supervisor Kerrilyn Cramer, and though they ultimate defeated Dzalamidze and Panova, 6-7 (4), 6-4, 7-5, the moment nonetheless got plenty of attention on social media—both for a lack of an instant replay and the perceived poor sportsmanship from their opponents.

“She should have called it on herself,” Riske-Amritraj tweeted, “& the umpire apologized for his incorrect ruling after, which I accepted.

“Poor sportsmanship and cheating happens all the time, especially at the junior level. Parents/players spend too much time, money & mental energy for that experience.”

Riske-Amritraj then used her platform to crowdsource anyone who may be working on new VAR technology to complement or perhaps replace the nascent Hawkeye Live system that has taken over tennis in the post-pandemic era.

“As you can tell, I am extremely passionate about helping tennis’ future here,” she wrote.