Alison Riske-Amritraj speaks out after missed Australian Open call goes viralBy Jan 21, 2023
'I feel ... like I'm playing for her': Naomi Osaka motivated by daughter Shai in 2024 comebackBy Dec 08, 2023
Jack Draper joins forces with Alzheimer’s Society as grandmother battles dementiaBy Dec 07, 2023
Zheng Qinwen announces reunion with coach Pere RibaBy Dec 03, 2023
Tennis power couple Anastasia Potapova, Alexander Shevchenko get marriedDec 01, 2023
WATCH: Carlos Alcaraz wows Iga Swiatek with hot shot at Mexico City exhibitionBy Nov 30, 2023
AC Milan fans give Davis Cup hero Jannik Sinner a welcome home to rememberBy Nov 29, 2023
Felix Auger-Aliassime salutes Canadian tennis after Davis Cup exit, BJK Cup victoryBy Nov 28, 2023
Casper Ruud inspires next generation at Norwegian primary schoolBy Nov 27, 2023
Ajla Tomljanovic breaks internet with fabulous Florianopolis cat trophyBy Nov 27, 2023
Alison Riske-Amritraj speaks out after missed Australian Open call goes viral
The American framed the incident around the importance of fair play after receiving a hindrance call because the umpire didn’t see she had accidentally hit her opponent at net.
Published Jan 21, 2023
WATCH: Riske-Amritraj began her 2023 season in Adelaide against Barbora Krejcikova.
Alison Riske-Amritraj took to Twitter after a point from her doubles match with Linda Fruhvirtova went viral for all the wrong reasons on Friday.
Riske-Amritraj was outraged during their match against Natela Dzalamidze and Alexandra Panova when she was given a hindrance call for ostensibly shouting “Sorry!” during the point.
In reality, the American had accidentally hit her opponent at net early in the second set. The force of the ball caused it to bounce back over the net and lead umpire Nico Helwerth to believe contact had been made with a racquet.
Riske-Amritraj and Fruhvirtova argued in vain, first with Helwerth and later with supervisor Kerrilyn Cramer, and though they ultimate defeated Dzalamidze and Panova, 6-7 (4), 6-4, 7-5, the moment nonetheless got plenty of attention on social media—both for a lack of an instant replay and the perceived poor sportsmanship from their opponents.
“She should have called it on herself,” Riske-Amritraj tweeted, “& the umpire apologized for his incorrect ruling after, which I accepted.
“Poor sportsmanship and cheating happens all the time, especially at the junior level. Parents/players spend too much time, money & mental energy for that experience.”
Riske-Amritraj then used her platform to crowdsource anyone who may be working on new VAR technology to complement or perhaps replace the nascent Hawkeye Live system that has taken over tennis in the post-pandemic era.
“As you can tell, I am extremely passionate about helping tennis’ future here,” she wrote.